RM12 (Havering) area guide

The RM12 postcode district lies within or includes part of the following towns, counties, localities, electoral wards and stations: Elm Park, Elm Park Station, Hacton, Havering, Hornchurch, Hornchurch Station, Hylands, St Andrew's.


A Mouseprice property guide for RM12 Havering is coming soon. In the meantime, please have a look at the raw data and statistics about RM12 that can be found by click the relevant links on the left hand side.

Old area guide:

The commentary below was written for the mouseprice.com website in 2006, please be aware that the comments below might be out of date. We recommend disregarding these comments in favour of the data that can be found either above or in the other sections of this website.

Market trends:

Romford propertyThe size of the property market in RM12 is 13641 homes.

Romford propertyGiven that the nominal growth rate in this postcode district (RM12) has been about 16.1% over the last 5 years, it would be reasonable to assume that this isa dynamic local economy and housing market. Property price growth in this area has significantly exceeded growth in earnings and the national average house price growth, and so the likelihood of it continuing will be dependent upon price earnings ratio, as well as investment by developers and local authorities in continually upgrading local infrastructure, schools, in addition to the continued strength of the local and national economies and any other economies upon which the area depends.

Romford propertyAverage property prices in this postcode district over the last three months have been approximately £217004.

Romford propertyPrice earnings ratio is an indicator of the affordability of property for someone on the average salary in the area. Price Earnings Ratio in this postcode district is 11.6.

Romford propertyNew transactions as a percentage of overall sales are 7.9%.

Housing stock:

Havering propertySemi- Detached Houses make up the most significant portion of the housing stock, representing 49.7% of the total.

Havering propertyDetached Houses account for the lowest percentage of the housing stock in this district, at only 4.5%.

Havering propertySocially rented accommodation represents 10.5% of the total rented accommodation in the area.

Havering propertyThe majority of property in this area is owner occupied.

Havering propertyThe average price of a two bed property in this area is higher than the national average of £187894 at £209588.

Who lives here:

Havering propertyThere are 16068 men and 17222 women in this postcode district.
Havering propertyThe average age in this area is 40.
Havering propertyThis area has a high percentage of married people at 25.7%.
Havering propertyAverage working hours in this area for men are 42 and for women are 30.
Havering propertyThis area has 41.1 people per square kilometre.
Havering propertyThe largest source of work in this area is Wholesale & Retail (14.9% of workers), followed by Construction (13.3%).